BSCA East Midland Region Events 1999

Official Result of the
East Midland Area MTB-Cross Championships
Held at Brickyard Farm Matlock,
on Saturday 5th June

Contrary to the weather forecast, glorious sun was enjoyed for Matlock CC/Wards Shoe Shops/ Clarks annual Spring ‘Circuit of the Moor’ MTB race. The programme incorporated the British Schools Cycling Association East Midlands Area Championships, so included races for all age groups, as well as the normal BCCA events for Youth, Under 12s and Junoirs/Seniors/Veterans. Several of the more energetic youngsters managed to ride both the BSCA and the BCCA event that was appropriate to their age group.
A shortened version of the Brickyard farm course was used, due to quarrying activities there is an area getting bigger each year that can’t be used for the course. The course that was laid out was all rideable, at least by the best bike-handlers, and included some very testing bumpy bits. Over 15s As expected, the top seeded rider, Phil Spencer of Matlock CC dominated this race, leading almost from start to finish.
The result was:

1st Phil Spencer 	Highfields School, Matlock
2nd Richard Teare 	High Storrs School, Sheffield
3rd Steve Minshull 	Highfields School, Matlock
4th Ben Ward            Trent College, Nottingham
5th Liam Haslam         Broomfield, Derby
Under 15s Philip Dougall improved on his 5th position at this age group last year to win this year.

1st Philip Dougall 	Frederick Gent School
2nd Lee Allen Valley 	School, Worksop
3rd Andrew Stephens 	Carlton le Willows, Nottingham
4th Matthew Short       Highfields, Matlock
Under 13s The winner was Jon Mozley, one of the younger riders in this age group, who won the Under 11s event last year.

1st Jon Mozley 		Friesland Comprehensive School
2nd James Parkes 	Tapton School, Sheffield
3rd Daniel Wells 	Frederick Gent School
4   Nikki Harris        Friesland Comprehensive, Derby 1st Girl
5   Tom Jenkins         Tapton, Sheffield
6   Dan Davies          John Port, Derby
7   Mark Cotton         Yarborough, Lincoln
8   Peter Wright        Berry Hill, Ashfield
9   Adrian Jackson      Frederick Gent
10  Louise Parr         Ashfield Comprehensive 

1st Nikki Harris 	Friesland Comprehensive School
2nd Louise Parr 	Ashfield Comprehensive School
Under 11s

1st Jamie Harris 	Draycott Primary School
2nd David Fletcher 	King Edwin School, Edwinstowe
3rd Adam Turner         Sherwood Junior, Warsop
4   Stephen Adams 	Carlton Central School, Nottingham
5   Stephen Fletcher    King Edwin Primary, Edwinstowe
6   Michael Speight     Swain House, Shipley
7   Thomas Cotton       Westgate Junior, Lincoln
Under 9s

1st Ben Fletcher 	King Edwin School, Edwinstowe
2nd Mathew Fletcher 	King Edwin School, Edwinstowe
3rd James Beresford 	Moor First School, Biddulph


1st Nea Warren 		St Josephs RC Primary, Matlock
2nd Melissa Speight 	Oakdale School, Shipley

For more details Ring (01629) 734996 or Email

Back to Matlock Cycling Club's Homepage

Back to BSCA index